top of page

FREDERIQUE TRISTANT

Frédérique Tristant is a French artist born in Vannes in 1971, who lives and works in Brittany in the Morbihan.She is both a specialist in semiotics, holding a doctorate from the University of Bordeaux, and a painter whose training was validated by a CAPES.

This double training irrigates her work, offering beyond its graphic aspect, a reflection on the nature of the representation resulting from her university course on the image of the bodies through the tools of reproductions (photographs, videos) and scientific investigation (radiology, scanner, MRI etc).

From this reflection, she seeks the limit, the tension between the physical reality of skins and bodies and the dreamlike vision that representation offers: subtle recreation of this reality in a two-dimensional space materialized by some pictorial layers thinner than the epidermis.

Her work revisits the female portrait from the angle of a carnal envelope that brings memories to the surface of the skin.As in her research on the first photographic atlas of dermatology by Dr. Hardy and Montmeja in 1868, she retouches each portrait with watercolor and acrylic paint. She takes over a physiognomy that she remodels and remakes as she wishes. She refines these masks that tell women's stories like the diary of our melancholy, our absences and our sensuality.

The wrinkles and folds of the skin paper anchor her work in the genre of the Vanities operating a clear shift from the photographic witness to the pictorial. The motifs (flowers, birds, stripes, toile de Jouy, liberty, gingham, etc.) allow him to pass from a real person photographed to a fictional character and to refuse the simple decorative aspect. The motif is a Proust's madeleine that makes his work nostalgic and his personal memories become universal.
 

Art Gallery, ARS ESSENTIA, Beaune, Bourgogne, France.

Ou-es-tu?
Perdue
dancing
Transparence
Un nouveau monde
image roman photo 2
bottom of page

FREDERIQUE TRISTANT

Frédérique Tristant est une artiste française née à Vannes en 1971, qui vit et travaille en Bretagne dans le Morbihan.


Elle est à la fois une spécialiste de la sémiotique, titulaire d'un doctorat de l'Université de Bordeaux, et une artiste peintre dont la formation a été validée par un CAPES.


Cette double formation irrigue son travail, offrant au-delà de son aspect graphique, une réflexion sur la nature de la représentation issue de son cursus universitaire sur l'image des corps à travers les outils de reproductions (photographies, vidéos) et d'investigation scientifique (radiologie, scanner, IRM etc).


A partir de cette réflexion, elle cherche la limite, la tension entre la réalité physique des peaux et des corps et la vision onirique qu'offre la représentation : recréation subtile de cette réalité dans un espace bidimensionnel matérialisé par quelques couches picturales plus fines que l'épiderme.


Son travail revisite le portrait féminin sous l'angle d'une enveloppe charnelle qui fait remonter les souvenirs à la surface de la peau.
Comme dans ses recherches sur le premier atlas photographique de dermatologie du Dr Hardy et Montmeja en 1868, elle retouche chaque portrait à l'aquarelle et à la peinture acrylique. Elle s'approprie une physionomie qu'elle remodèle et refait à sa guise. Elle affine ces masques qui racontent des histoires de femmes comme le journal intime de nos mélancolies, de nos absences et de notre sensualité.


Les rides et les plis du papier pelure ancrent son travail dans le genre des Vanités opérant un net glissement du témoignage photographique vers le pictural. Les motifs (fleurs, oiseaux, rayures, toile de Jouy, liberty, vichy, etc.) lui permettent de passer d'une personne réelle photographiée à un personnage fictif et de refuser le simple aspect décoratif. Le motif est une madeleine de Proust qui rend son œuvre nostalgique et ses souvenirs personnels deviennent universels.

P1010152(2)
P1010158
P1000972(2)
DSC_7780
DSC_7773(2)
image roman photo 2